Nutritionists Eat Cookies: Sweet & Salty Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

I had to make something for a pot-luck at work, so I went to my go-to source for amazing recipes: SmittenKitchen.com. My sister-in-law told me about it a year ago (thanks!), and I’ve been hooked since. The website is on my bookmarks tab, so yes I am a true fan. The recipes are not particularly fat/sugar/calorie sparing, but what I love is that the author uses wholesome ingredients, which I am a big fan of.

Everyone should enjoy a good cookie once in a while. I prefer REAL ingredients instead of lab creations, like butter instead of margarine and maple syrup, honey and even refined sugar instead of artificial sweeteners. 

My motto- eat the real deal, but less of it. And try to have some fruit or veggies first :-) 

I made these cookies for 20 other nutritionists (yes, nutritionist eat cookies) who all seem to agree with my motto. This was my second time making them and they came out just as good. You can’t go wrong with sweet and salty. Make them. I mean it. 

Crispy Salted Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies 

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen.

Original recipe yields 24 cookies; I managed to get out about 30 large cookies. 

1 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon table salt
1 cup sugar
1 + 3/4 sticks unsalted butter, slightly softened
1/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg
2 + 1/2 cups old-fashioned rolled oats
6 ounces white chocolate bar, chopped (first time I made them with white and second with dark chocolate, both were great but white was a tad better)
Flaky sea salt (for sprinkling on top)

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Line baking sheet with parchment paper or Silpat.
2. Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and table salt in a medium bowl.
3. In separate bowl, beat butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla and beat until incorporated.
4. Add flour mixture gradually and mix until just incorporated and smooth.
5. Gradually add oats and chocolate, mix until well incorporated.
6. Roll dough into small balls and place on cookie sheet (the cookies spread more than I thought so make sure there is space between the dough balls).
7. Sprinkle a flake or two of sea salt on each cookie.
8. Bake until cookies are deep golden brown, about 13 to 16 minutes.
9. Transfer baking sheet to wire rack to cool.

And for your information, yes that picture is real! I took it right after the cookie came out of the oven, so expect yours to look similar. Photography is not my forte, so I’ll use blogging as my excuse to finally learn it. After all,  I know how hard it is to commit to making a recipe without a picture.

2 thoughts on “Nutritionists Eat Cookies: Sweet & Salty Oatmeal Chocolate Cookies

  1. Pingback: Do It Yourself (DIY): Oatmeal « Little Bites Nutrition

Leave a Reply

